Dedicated to the memory of Katherine “Katie” McCarron

July 19, 2006 at 9:09 pm (Autism activism, Homicide, Katie McCarron)

This blog is the new home of Autiemom Speaks Out. I am in the process of moving all my essays from Blogspot because I have been having persistent problems with it. I have not been able to post to that blog for quite some time.

Now that I have created a brand new blog, I thought it would be very fitting to dedicate this blog to the memory of Katie McCarron, a beautiful 3-year-old autistic girl murdered by her own mother. By now her story is well known, so it doesn’t make sense for me to outline what happened. Katie has her own entry on Wikipedia and there are numerous blogs, memorial pages, and posts devoted to remembering her. I think it is fair to say that the autism activist community is still reeling from her death.

Her grandfather Mike McCarron graciously provided three images of his granddaughter to this community, and he invited us to use her image in a way that would honor her. She was a cute “girly girl” who loved to wear dresses and play with dolls. She liked to wear pink. She didn’t mind being fixed up and fussed over. I’m going to guess that she liked sparkly, shiny things, too. But she liked something else not so girly girl: She liked grass.

This small snapshot into the short life of this little girl, provided so lovingly by her grandfather in the posts he has written about her, gave me the inspiration to design the portrait of her in the above link. It features something Katie was known to say: “I like grass.” She is in a field of grass, holding someone’s hand, someone who loves her. She is not looking at that someone, because she doesn’t have to. She was free to look anywhere she wanted to, into that field of grass, allowed to love that person back in Katie’s way.

Her picture is placed on a page from this year’s calendar, the month in which her life was taken from her: May 2006. I didn’t realize until I put the picture together that she died on a Saturday, the day before Mother’s Day.

Katie, this blog is for you and for all those who have come to know you and love you because your grandfather decided it was not time to say goodbye. We cannot say goodbye to you because we want to focus on remembering you, but remembering you in the right way too. Your grandfather told us: “Katie was a joyful little girl, please remember her with a smile and a prayer.” I hope that we can all do just that when we think of you. I hope we can smile and pray instead of focusing on the pain and the injustice of what happened to you. You are in a joyful place now, and I hope it is a place with lots and lots of grass. 

Leave a Reply

